Honorable mentions

Test your knowledge on U.S. President history

1) Who was the full General and Commander of the Continental Army during the Revolutionary War?
2) Who was the youngest President at the time of going into office?
3) Who was President during the statewide civil war dubbed "Bleeding Kansas"?
4) Who is the only President that was a bachelor the whole time he was President?
5) Which 2 Presidents were Grandfather/Grandson?
6) Who got General Lee to surrender the south at the end of the civil war?
7) Which President created the "New Deal"?
8) How many Presidents were "founding fathers" of the United States?
9) Which President went on to serve in the Supreme Court after Presidency?
10) Andrew Jackson was known as "Old Hickory", which President had a close association with him enough that he was dubbed "Young Hickory"?
11) Who is the only President to serve more than 2 terms?
12) Who was the only President that held the title of Vice President and President without being in an election?
13) Which 2 Presidents died on 4th of July of the same year?
14) Which President was well known for his acts of conservation of national parks?
15) Who is the only President to have served 2 terms non-consecutively?
16) Who was the first President born an American citizen?
17) Which President's term was referred to as "His Accidency" instead of Presidency?
18) Who had the nickname of "Old rough and ready"?
19) How many Presidents died while serving as President?
20) Who was the last President to have served in the civil war?

The President of the United States (POTUS) is the elected head of government of the United States of America. The president leads the executive branch of the federal government and is the commander-in-chief of the United States Armed Forces.

The President of the United States is considered one of the world’s most powerful people and that role includes being the commander-in-chief of the world’s most expensive military with the largest nuclear arsenal and leading the largest economy by real and nominal gross domestic product. The office of the president holds significant hard, and soft power, both in the United States and abroad.

Article II of the U.S. Constitution vests the executive power of the United States in the president. The power includes execution of federal law, alongside the responsibility of appointing federal executive, diplomatic, regulatory and judicial officers, and concluding treaties with foreign powers with the advice and consent of the Senate. The president is further empowered to grant federal pardons and reprieves, and to convene and adjourn either or both houses of Congress, under extraordinary circumstances. The president also directs the foreign and domestic policy of the United States.

The president is indirectly elected by the people, through the Electoral College to a four-year term, and is one of only two nationally elected federal officers, the other being the Vice President of the United States. 

The Twenty-second Amendment, adopted in 1951, prohibits anyone from ever being elected to the presidency for a third full term. George Washington set the precedent, others followed suit thinking no man should have that power for life, but that was an unwritten rule and therefor Franklin Roosevelt was able to secure more than the standard two terms. In all, 43 individuals have served 44 presidencies (counting Cleveland’s two non-consecutive terms, separately) spanning 57 full four-year terms, counting the current President, Barack Obama.

Here are the 44 Presidents and a link to their timeline;

Presidents #1-10 (1752-1845) were the ones to set the bar. They broke from Great Britain and established the new nation and rules to follow. They played major roles in the Revolutionary War and War of 1812 .

  • 1.George Washington; Independent
  • 2. John Adams; Federalist
  • 3. Thomas Jefferson; Democratic-Republican
  • 4. James Madison; Democratic-Republican
  • 5. James Monroe; Democratic-Republican
  • 6. John Quincy Adams; Democratic-Republican
  • 7. Andrew Jackson; Democrat
  • 8. Martin Van Buren; Democrat
  • 9. William Henry Harrison*; Whig
  • 10. John Tyler; Whig

Presidents #11-20 (1845-1881) Dealt with the Mexican-American War, South secession and Civil War, as well as the reconstruction phases and fight for civil rights that came with those.

  • 11. James K. Polk; Democrat
  • 12. Zachary Taylor; Whig
  • 13. Millard Filmore; Whig
  • 14. Franklin Pierce; Democrat
  • 15. James Buchanon; Democrat
  • 16. Abraham Lincoln; Republican
  • 17. Andrew Johnson; Democrat
  • 18. Ulysses S. Grant; Republican
  • 19. Rutherford B. Hayes; Republican
  • 20. James A. Garfield; Republican

Presidents #21-30 (1881-1929) Established many civil reforms, delegated conservation of land, branched out the Federal Government, as well as improved foreign relations and dealt with the Great War; World War I.

  • 21. Chester A. Arthur; Republican
  • 22. Grover Cleveland; Democrat
  • 23. Benjamin Harrison; Republican
  • 24. Grover Cleveland; Democrat
  • 25. William McKinley; Republican
  • 26. Theodore Roosevelt; Republican
  • 27. William H. Taft; Republican
  • 28. Woodrow Wilson; Democrat
  • 29. Warren G. Harding; Republican
  • 30. Calvin Coolidge; Republican

Presidents #31-40 (1929-1989) dealt with the Great Depression, Prohibition, World War II, Vietnam war, and the Cold war.

  • 31. Herbert Hoover; Republican
  • 32. Franklin D. Roosevelt; Democrat
  • 33. Harry Truman; Democrat
  • 34. Dwight D. Eisenhower; Republican
  • 35. John F. Kennedy; Democrat
  • 36. Lyndon B. Johnson; Democrat
  • 37. Richard M. Nixon; Republican
  • 38. Gerald Ford; Republican
  • 39. Jimmy Carter; Democrat
  • 40. Ronald Reagan; Republican

Presidents #41-Present (1989-present) Dealt with the Middle East wars, War on Terror, and White House Scandals

  • 41. George H. W. Bush; Republican
  • 42. Bill Clinton; Democrat
  • 43. George W. Bush; Republican
  • 44. Barack Obama; Democrat
  • 45. Donald Trump; Republican







Facebook Comments